Why Do I Get so Attached to Fictional Characters?

When you start watching animes, TV series, movies, or reading books and mangas, there’s always one character in that story that you like the most and in the end, you end up getting too attached to that character. YES, EMOTIONALLY ATTACHED. That character doesn’t always have to be the main character, sometimes it’s the villain, sometimes it’s the supporting character. In most cases, you’re getting emotionally attached to the characters, not the actor/actress who played the character.

You might have notice that character in the beginning of the story, but as you get to know them better through couple episodes, you start develop feelings for them, you want to hug them, rub their backs, pat their heads and tell them that everything is going to be alright (except in the end the writer ended up making them jump from high buildings or they ended up in different years or universe. Yes, I’m talking about you Steven Moffat and RTD).   And then you started joining the fandom, making or reblogging those gifset until your blog is full of them. Sometimes you ship them with other characters. They become your OTP and you start writing or reading those unbelievably amazing fanfics.

The question is, why? Why do we get so attached to those fictional characters?

In my opinion, the first reason maybe the connection that we feel between those fictional characters and us. One thing we have to keep in mind is that a connection doesn’t always have to physical. The other factor is something in common. It could be the same pasts, personalities or just those quirky habits that both of you have in common. The urge to protect someone who’s so vulnerable can be something that can make you so attached to them, because sometimes those characters have gone through so many hardships so you want to protect them from those things that can destroy them or hurt their feelings. The last one maybe we see traits that those characters have and we want our future husband/wife to have them or we want to be treated the way those characters treat someone precious to them.  Personally, I think it is natural to get attached to those fictional characters because even though they are not real, the feelings we have for them, and those pangs in your heart when something bad happened to them are real. Yes, they are real. So it’s okay to get emotionally attached.

spotlight-on-nbcs-hannibal-L-4kNbbY

To be honest, I don’t get too attached to fictional characters easily. Up until now, maybe it’s only Jack Frost from The Rise of the Guardians, Will Graham from Hannibal, Rory Williams from Doctor Who, Max Vandenburgh from The Book Thief, Mayuri Shiina from Steins;Gate and Alec Hardy from Broadchurch, But I only get emotionally attached to Jack Frost and Will Graham. Do you see what both of them have in common?

Great, because that’s me, the real me. The moment I saw Will Graham picking up stray dog in the middle of the night,  I knew I was gonna get emotionally attached to him. I was so goddamn right about it. He created a family from those stray dogs, it’s kind of sweet in my opinion, but there’s also a pang in my heart and it feels like someone stabbed me with a knife. Maybe because both of us are actually very lonely and we’re not good at dealing with people. Jack Frost is the same too, he has been alone for a long time, other people didn’t recognize him, he’s invincible. He’s very lonely and not sure about himself, about who he really is. That’s why I get emotionally attached to Will and Jack.

The reason why I get so attached to Rory Williams from Doctor Who is different. I see the traits in him that I long for. He’s the kind of person I’ve never met in my life. He looks like an ordinary person but his patience and loyalty moved me. Remember that time when Amy got stuck in other dimension and got old because she had to wait for 40 years? Remember what Rory said to old Amy when he found out that Amy’s getting old and he’s still young?

“I don’t care that you got old, I care that we didn’t grow old together.”

My final conclusion is that we can get so attached to fictional characters because of various reasons and it depends on how we see  and interpret those characters and of course it depends on how we see ourselves too.

Leave a Reply

